The Unknown

I had huge dreams of going to college and ultimately “figuring my life out.” I thought that if I could just make it to college then everything would click and I would suddenly know what my future holds along with finding my purpose in life.

9 weeks into college and I am still clueless as to what I’m set on this earth to do. I spent those whole nine weeks pouting about “not having it figured out.” But isn’t that the beauty of the unknown? We don’t have to have anything figured out because that’s simply not our job. When I actually stopped and took into consideration who the master behind my entire life is, I became overwhelmed with peace and joy. God is the potter, and I am the clay. How beautifully exhilarating it is to live in complete freedom and not have to worry about what our future holds because of God’s promise.

I encourage you to do what you love. Don’t live a mediocre life just because it’s the norm. Find a hobby or passion and run with it. You don’t even have to be good at what you love. God gives us talents and strengths. Find yours and use them.

I find myself getting into ruts and I don’t think I’m the only one. It’s okay to be completely clueless as to what we’re called to do. It’s okay to go through trial and error to find what brings us joy. It’s okay to ASK God what our purpose is. We need to stop giving ourselves times in which tasks need to be completed. It’s okay to be in college with an undecided major. It’s okay to be out of school searching for a job. It’s okay to be in a job and realize it’s not what you love. God wants to use us every single day. There’s no need to put a time limit on finding our purpose. Our purpose lies at the feet of Jesus Christ. He gives us purpose every day. The rest is up to us.

One thought on “The Unknown

Leave a Reply

